i’m sorry a zombie bit you

since i didn’t post last night (or technically the night before, though that was a fluke), this is a re-post of an article i wrote for my language school’s website, which, by the way, i made. well, i re-made. long story.

the website is www.superenglish.blog.com . i migrated about 140 articles over to it and set up links and did a lot of work, and now i get the title of webmaster, hooray!

***

Two Fridays ago I was sick because the little kids are full of germs and because I rarely heed the advice to not high-five their crusty little hands (I’ve since learned my lesson and changed to the fist-bump and hand sanitizer policy like everyone recommended).

Not only did John Phelps bring me back some medicine and a juice box after running an errand, he also offered to cover my Prathom 5 class after lunch. What a relief! I used that period to rest up and then I exerted the rest of my energy on teaching my final two Mattayom classes of the day.

After class, I returned to the teacher’s room, exhausted. I was grumpy and prepared to head straight home, but when I got back to my desk, I found a stack of papers scattered across it.

More papers?! What?! I almost cried. But then I looked more closely.

Turns out John had those germy little monsters make “get well soon” cards for me! So awesome.
For the inside of the card, he had them do a mad-lib style fill-in-the-blank, so most of them went like this:

“Dear Teacher Brittany, I am sad that you are sick. I’m sorry that a zombie/a dog/a gorilla bit you. I love you my teacher. Get well soon/this weekend/in 100 years!”

55 cards made with love. Some of them really put a lot of effort into their cards! But of course, there’s always the kid who has no idea what’s going on, so this one made me laugh the hardest:

All it’s got is a picture of me…. and all it says is “I am Pear.” Classic.

Thanks, Pear, for making me laugh when I was sick, and thanks John Phelps for covering my class and being so thoughtful! You rock.

Leave a comment